Green Living Show

Ahhh the Green Living Show! I look forward to this every year … There’s just something about it that always inspires me, from finding a new product to listening to a great speaker.  So here are some of my favourite things from this year’s show.  I think I will need a few posts for this one, so we will start with “Food and Drink:”

1. Liberte Organic Greek Yogourt – Liberte
I’ve been buying Liberte’s regular yogourt for years, and had recently seen the new Greek-style variety in stores, but was reluctant to buy a whole tub just to try it out.  So luckily I was able to sample some at the store, and mmmmm I think it’s safe to say that once you go Greek you’ll never go back!  It is so incredibly creamy and rich yet fat-free.  Another big nutritional selling feature is the high protein content.  My favourite was the vanilla which charted in at 140 calories, 16 grams of fat, and 16 grams of sugar per 75 gram serving.  There was another yogourt vendor close by … I’m pretty sure theirs had more sugar per serving.

2. botl filter – Portable Water Filter System – botl filter
I loved how small and waste-minimal this gadget was.  It consisted of a stainless steel tube into which one would insert a tea-bag sized filter bag.  Drop it into water, shake and voila, filtering is done!

3. Farm Fresh Fare – literally everything I tried was amazing, but in particular I will focus on two vendors, both of whom also presented their creations at the cooking stage:  Marben restaurant and Mill Street Brewery.  Mill Street I’ve been familiar with for years — one of my favourite beers is their organic lager.  They also have an excellent coffee beer.  Between now and Earth Day, Mill Street is donating 50 cents from every beer sold at participating restaurants to Earth Day Canada.  See their site for details.

As for Marben  I was really won over by chef Carl Heinrich and his colleague.  I loved how they presented their approach to their business:  find the best ingredients first, and then build the menu around them.  Carl was supposed to make a chilled vegan soup but apparently forgot his blender, so made a beef burger instead.  I found Carl’s honest admission quite hilarious and I wonder if the vegans in the crowd did as well. Funnier yet is the fact that I’ve been almost entirely avoiding beef for years (details later) but when I watched Carl prepare this burger … oh my … I did eat one tiny juicy unbelievably wonderful piece.  I can’t wait to visit their restaurant.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

