Challenge

Every year I engage my grade four students in a two week challenge to do as many “green” tasks as they can.  The idea being that after the two weeks are over, they will have established some new habits that they will carry forwards with them.  Or so I hope!  The suggested tasks range from the relatively easy and obvious like turning off lights when not needed, and using a reusable water bottle to more challenging activities such as attending community events and writing letters to businesses or politicians with suggestions or questions.  For each task I assign “points” – for example, five points for bringing your bottle to school or packing a litter-less lunch, or 15 points for attending a “green” event.

I do the challenge along with them, and although “creating a blog” wasn’t technically one of the tasks I offered up to the kids, it’s one I thought would be appropriate for my own challenge.  Hmm … how many points should I give myself? 🙂  Perhaps just a glass of (organic) wine!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

